Archive for December 12th, 2012

Newsday – Beginning of a new week

At the beginning of this week the journalism lecturers said that we’d be scrapping the midday broadcast because in the times we have done it it has been scrappy and rushed. The midday broadcast also took people away from doing things for the 3pm broadcast. All in all I think this was a good decision. Even though the presenters could have done with the extra practise, it seemed so rushed and thrown together that it didn’t seem very professional.

 

The 3pm broadcasts were still going out as planned but this week we were streaming live to the TVs in the reception of Ellen Terry and on the Coventry University website as well so any blunders would have been caught live. This added another level of pressure to all of us especially me because if I didn’t move the levels or forgot to move the levels for a VT there would be no sound. I kind of liked having that sort of pressure on me because it just pushed me to do my job properly and it also felt like an actual news station.

 

Its only Tuesday but Monday’s and Today’s broadcasts have been the smoothest yet. Finally, the script was saved under the right format and we started the broadcast at 3:05pm, which is a lot sooner than we had been starting. This week we had even more pressure, as it seemed like, for the past 2 days, that all of the journalism staff wanted to be in the gallery while the broadcast was happening. This was very nerve racking having the gallery filled with people, especially for me as I do not like crowded places, I did start to feel unwell and thought I was going to pass out. I focused on my job, not looking away from the sound desk and soon enough the feeling passed.

 

The sound on the VTs are still all over the place & I’ve mentioned it to the staff but I doubt they’ve said anything otherwise there would have been a change in the quality of sound. This has to be the most frustrating thing as it doesn’t just make them look like they can’t do their job properly but I get some of the blame as well because the levels are different all the time, no matter how much I try to control them on the sound desk.